South Dublin County Council elects new Mayor and Deputy Mayor

25 Jun 21

At the Annual Meeting of South Dublin County Council held on Friday 25 June 202 in County Hall, Tallaght, Councillor Peter Kavanagh (Independent) representing the Clondalkin Electoral Area was elected Mayor of South Dublin County.

Councillor Peter Kavanagh was proposed for Mayor by Councillor Liam Sinclair (An Rabharta Glas – Green Left) and was seconded by Councillor Shane Moynihan (Fianna Fáil). Following a roll call vote Councillor Kavanagh was deemed elected to the Office of Mayor.

Tributes were paid to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Ed O’Brien (Fianna Fáil) and Deputy Mayor, Councillor David McManus (Fine Gael), who thanked their fellow Councillors, Chief Executive, Daniel McLoughlin and the management and staff of the Council for their help and support during their term in office.

Councillor Laura Donaghy (Green Party) representing the Rathfarnham -Templeogue Electoral Area was elected Deputy Mayor. Councillor Donaghy was proposed as Deputy Mayor by Councillor Suzanne McEneaney (Green Party) and seconded by Councillor David McManus (Fine Gael).

Councillor Francis Timmons (Independent) was elected chair of the Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Joanna Tuffy (Labour) was elected chair of the Lucan / Palmerstown / North Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Alan Edge (Independent) was elected chair of the Rathfarnham / Templeogue / Firhouse / Bohernabreena Area Committee.

Councillor Teresa Costello (Fianna Fáil) was elected chair of the Tallaght Area Committee.

Mayor Kavanagh thanked his fellow elected members for their support in his acceptance speech and pledged to work towards an inclusive South Dublin County that is welcoming for everyone. Mayor Kavanagh concluded his speech by dedicating himself to the Irish language and culture.