SDCC approve over €175,000 in Community Grants

08 May 19

A total of 122 applications for South Dublin County Council's Community Grants programme have been awarded over €175,000 at the monthly meeting of South Dublin County Council.

These include a wide range of groups, such as Clondalkin Rugby Club, The Web Project, Knockmitten United FC, the Dublin/Wicklow Mountain Rescue Team, South Dublin Taekwondo and the Women Together Tallaght Network.

Applications were sought under the Council’s Community Grants Programme 2019 between Monday 11 March to Friday, 5 April 2019. 

The Community Grants Programme is aimed at providing financial assistance to Community and Voluntary Groups who are responding to locally identified needs within their communities.

Community Grant Applications are assessed by the Community Department under the following criteria:

  • Impact on local community and local community involvement.
  • Availability/existence of other groups doing the same work or duplication of activities. 
  • Proven track record and ability of the group to deliver the project.   
  • Provision of clear and accurate project costings.
  • Projects/works demonstrating good value for money.
  • Existing funds available to the group/funds in hand and availability of other funding sources.
  • Projects or works demonstrating sustainability.

Colm Ward, Director of Housing, Social and Community Development, said,

"This funding will provide a real boost to community groups and projects across South Dublin County. The wide range of activities and groups being awarded shows the strength of community spirit in our County."


About South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region. South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial support. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas. Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south-west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dún Laoghaire.