## New Town (1970 - 1985)

In the mid 1960's the Irish Government commissioned the well known British planner Myles Wright to devise an expansion plan for Dublin City. His strategy, which was broadly adopted in 1972, was the creation of four new towns to the west of Dublin City, Blanchardstown, Lucan, Clondalkin and Tallaght.



Myles Wright Plan

Unlike new towns in the UK or the United States in the 1970's, there were no Development corporations created to develop the Irish New Towns. The primary responsibility fell to Dublin County Council who bought land, provided road, water and sewerage and open space infrastructure and along with Dublin Corporation engaged in a major housing programme. Numerous other State agencies were also involved in the provision of infrastructure such as schools, industrial estates and public transport. The major private investment was in housing, employment and retail. The planned population for the New Town was 100,000 and the expectation was that the car would be the predominant means of transport.



Aerial Shot of Dublin Sprawl